An Interview with one of my besties, Artist Mel Schwarz

I met Mel a many years ago through a old housemate at an exhibition she was holding at the Tap Gallery in Darlinghurst. I met her again later through my husband and since then we have become friends, having art nights whenever we get a chance. Mel is such a talented woman it is hard to pass your own work off as art as she sits near you and creates beauty in easy, fluid strokes on paper. She was more than happy to answer a few questions for me and I am more than happy to be able to share her works of art with you.

Give us a little background, how did you get into art?
I have always used my art as an escape. Ever since I can remember I have been drawing, all my report cards from school said if I payed as much attention to my work as I did my art, I would do well. It would always take me into my own little place that I could get lost in…it still does.

Where do you draw your inspiration from? What inspires you? 
Inspiration comes from many different angles. It could be things I see from books, mags or even Facebook, It also comes if I have a convention to work towards or a children’s book that I am reading with my kids. Most of all it is what ever falls into my head when my hand fills with pencil.

Who are your favorite artists? Do they play a part in influencing your work?   
I don’t really have a favorite. I mean, there are so many wonderful artists and they all bring something different,  sometimes one will switch something on in my brain and work its way onto my page.

How did you develop your style? 
Practice and experimentation, I am still trying new things.

What is your favorite medium?
Lead pencil, good ole fashioned black and white.

What does art mean to you?
Sanity.

What is your process in creating your pieces? 
I usually start with a feeling….dark and seductive, ethereal, strong, mean, kind etc and then whatever comes from that feeling hopefully works out.

If you could sum up your art and aesthetic in three words, what would they be and why? 
Fantastical, Dark, beautiful. Because they are usually fantastical dark and beautiful.

What is your favourite creation so far?  
A pencil drawing I did many years ago when I briefly lived in Melbourne. Its called ‘the lady of the lake’ its delicate and intricate and always makes me feel calm when I look at it.

What are some new pieces you are working on, What are your plans for the coming future?
I am currently working on a kids book using watercolour pencil and tea. Something very different from my usual works… a bit of a creative challenge. But for the future, I have 3 Comic Cons in 2014 that I m exhibiting at and others as they come up which I need new works for. So, a lot of fantasy art will be pouring through these fingers very soon.

These are 10 fun questions for you to answer. Just answer with one word your favourites for the following:
Photographer   Megan Quigley (awww shucks 🙂 )
Name                    Sybilla
Girl                        My daughter Lily
Artist                    Carlos Huante
Designer             Romance was Born
Instagram,Facebook or Twitter  Facebook
Band                     Sigur Ros
Place                     Amsterdam
Animal                 Polly (my dog)
Book                     Memoirs of a Geisha

You can follow Mel on Facebook to keep up to date with her latest creations and also head to her website if you would like to purchase any of these beautiful pieces.
Facebook: MelSchwarzartist
Website: http://melschwarz.com/

Cavern-lady Mel Schwarz

Cavern Lady

Dragon Bunnies Mel Schwarz

Dragon and Bunnies

Fish lady roses Mel Schwarz

Roses and Fishes

Into-the-dark-dark-woods Mel Schwarz

Into the dark dark woods

malimerLR Mel Schwarz

Malimer LR

Rose and big eyed girl Mel Schwarz

Lady with Dragon Tattoo

snow lady blue Mel Schwarz

The Snow Queen

The Masked Dancer Mel Schwarz

The Masked Dancer

Walking-on-water.-Pencil Mel Schwarz

Walking on Water

