An Interview with Model Shirin McBennett-Sheen

Shirin was the model I chose to work with on The Queen of the Goblins shoot that was published in Volume 5 of Freque Magazine.  She had some time to answer some questions for me.

What made you want become a model?
I did my first TFP shoot about 3 years ago with Christian Wagner, a talented hobby photographer. It started out of fun and became more serious over time. It was exciting to participate in ideas, to contribute my own and to fill a special role.
How did you feel when you did your first ever fashion show or photo shoot?
At first I was nervous and very excited, I did not know what I have to expect. Well of course it was nothing like I thought it was like. It was on a location shoot and the photographer helped me a lot. He showed me the basics of posing and expression but at the same time he helped me to relax and I felt very comfortable with him.
If you were not a model, what other profession would you be doing instead?
That is a tough question (grinning). My move to Australia made it so much easier for me to get work in the model business but I also study during the week. I just got an amazing job offer from an Australian company which involves a lot of traveling to the most fancy resorts and islands around the world. I would say this comes very close to my dream job.
What are the pressures of being a model? How do they affect you?
I would say there are two different environments for pressure. The first I will just call  “preparing pressure” which includes all the care for a healthy lifestyle, skin, hair and nails, exercising for the shape of my body and so on… And the second one I will call the “satisfaction pressure” while on a job. That means I feel a lot of pressure until I know everyone is happy about the work I have done.
What beauty tips do you swear by?
A good shampoo and conditioner ( I use the Hydrate & Conquer Shampoo and the Hydrate & Conquer Conditioner from O&M ) and for me the most important treatment for shiny and healthy looking hair: Kerastase Elixir Kultime from L’Oreal.
If a young girl/boy wanted to be a model what would your advice for them be?
Be prepared for a life without candy.
What is one of your craziest, most ridiculous memories?
I want to answer this question professionally so that people have a good image of me. So I think I should not answer it.
What are the 5 things you can’t live without?
My Jack Russel Mylo who gives me all his positive energy every single day.
My family and closest friends who help me with difficult decisions.
German sausage.
The band Rammstein
Sushi Train.
What’s your motto or life advice that you life by?
The greatest thing you will ever learn is just to love and be loved in return.
Where do you see yourself in 10 years?
If I could choose I would like to have a nice little house, a job I am passionate about and someone special by my side.
What are your favourite images that you have produced?
My favorite images are definitely, and without any doubt the stunning pictures from the “Queen of the Goblins” series published in Volume 5 of Freque Magazine. I loved to see myself as a warrior queen and to wear this amazing white one-arm dress from Designer Soot-ii Hothersall.
Shirin McBennett Sheen-blackwhite-portrait-model
Shirin McBennett Sheen-flower garland-portrait-model
Shirin McBennett Sheen-close up-portrait-model
Shirin McBennett Sheen-blackwhite-tattoo-portrait-model
Shirin McBennett Sheen-outdoor-portrait-model
Shirin McBennett Sheen-traditional german-portrait-model
Shirin McBennett Sheen-white face-portrait-model
Manuel Correia Mandy Heng Sylwia Lukosz